DSW Designer Shoe Warehouse

DSW Designer Shoe Warehouse says its commitment to diversity has helped it become dynamic and thriving  fashion footwear. The specialty footwear retailer, with 313 stores in 39 states, believes that its inclusive culture allows it to reach beyond its walls and make a positive impact on the communities it serves.

The company’s commitment to diversity is evident from its management team to its associates in the field. DSW has six independent directors on its board: three women and three men. It’s a cohesive group that works well as a team to make the best decisions possible for the company and its constituents, the company says.

“We are fortunate to have three highly skilled women on our board of directors. They bring new perspectives to the table and broaden the content of boardroom discussion to include the perspectives of multiple stakeholders,” said Jay Schottenstein, Chairman of the Board of DSW, Inc.

Joanna Lau, Chief Executive Officer of Lau technologies, and a member of the DSW Board since March 2008 noted, “Women do make a difference in the boardroom. They bring a collaborative leadership style that benefits boardroom dynamics by increasing the amount of listening, social support, and win-win problem-solving.”

“When there are more than two women on a board, having women in the room becomes a normal state of affairs. Women change the dynamics of transparency and openness. Nothing is taken for granted,” Lau added.
DSW is a proud donor of 2020 Women on Boards and its objective to advance the role of diversity in corporate America.


DSW Designer Shoe Warehouse is a leading branded footwear specialty retailer that offers a wide selection of brand name and designer dress, casual and athletic footwear for women and men. DSW operates 313 stores in 39 states and operated an e-commerce site, www.dsw.com. DSW also supplies footwear to 354 leased locations in the United States. For store locations and additional information about DSW, visit www.dswinc.com.

Board of directors from left to right: James Robbins, Elaine Eisenman, Philip Miller, Joanna Lau, Jay Schottenstein, Carolee Friedlander, and Allan Tanenbaum.